FCU Southern Chautauqua opens a new branch in Dunkirk | News, Sports, Jobs


Pictured, Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union Board and Supervisory Committee members: Seated left to right: Geraldine (Jerry) Felton, Supervisory Committee and former CEO of Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union, Melvin Feather, Chairman of the Board, Christine Fosberg, Associate Director, Taras Korol, Director, Nancy Ferguson, Supervisory Committee. Standing left to right, James Casini, Board Secretary, Shawn Howard, Director, Ted Kapuscinski, Former Director, Jared Chrispell, Director, Rodney Beckerink, Board Treasurer, Larry Fiorella, Director, Tim Smeal, Director and Supervisory Chairman, and William Caldwell, vice chairman of the board.

The Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union (SCFCU) recently opened its new branch in Dunkirk in the former Bob Evans restaurant building at 3877 Vineyard Drive.

The Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union was established in December 1953, is a member-owned financial institution, and is honored to be the only designated community development financial institution in Chautauqua County. CDFI certification is the recognition by the United States Department of the Treasury of specialized financial institutions serving low to moderate income communities and those without access to finance.

Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union also holds the designation Juntos Avanzamos. Juntos Avanzamos (“Together, we move forward”) is a designation for credit unions committed to serving and empowering Hispanic and immigrant consumers by helping them navigate the U.S. financial system and provide safe, affordable, and relevant financial services. Juntos Avanzamos credit unions employ bilingual and culturally competent staff and leaders, accept other forms of identification, and treat all members with respect, regardless of their immigration status.

The Southern Chautauqua Federal Credit Union has six branches: Lakewood, Jamestown, Cherry Creek, Brocton, Clymer and Dunkirk. SCFCU has also opened 3 school branches (Southwestern High School, Jamestown High School and Frewsburg High School) which assist in the financial education of students while providing them with access to financial products (savings accounts, etc.) entity ) who lives, works, worships, attends school or does business in Chautauqua County is eligible to conduct banking transactions with Southern Chautauqua FCU. SCFCU provides financial products and services to all who fall within the above description, however, 25-30 percent of its members (clients) are from low to moderate income households, which is our mission to ” help these households meet their financial needs.

“The addition of the Dunkirk location strengthens our footprint, allowing us to fulfill our mission of being a financial resource for the entire county of Chautauqua”, said Mel Feather, Chairman of the Board.

The latest news today and more in your inbox


Comments are closed.